• HomePage

  • Our programs

  • PGMO

    PhD Awards

    PhD AWARD 2024

    The Gaspard Monge Program for Optimization, Operations Research and their Interactions with Data Science, with the participation and scientific patronage of ROADEF and SMAI (MODE group), is launching a call for applications for two thesis prizes (1000€ each).


    •  Criteria: PhD theses, defended in France in 2023, making significant contributions in the field of optimization and operations research. These contributions can be theoretical or applicative and can be related to mathematics or computer science.
    •  Awards ceremony and presentation of the winners' work at the next PGMODAYS conference (November 19&20, 2024)


    Submissions should be uploaded to the easychair website:  closed


    Closing date of the call: Tuesday 21rst, 2024 (Midnight - Paris Time)


    •  Additional information :

    Documents to be provided: thesis manuscript, abstract of the thesis in English, pre-defense and defense reports, CV with list of publications. Optionally, any letter of support can be added to the file, or sent to Magali Le Chaponnier <magali.lechaponnier@fondation-hadamard.fr> who will communicate it to the jury.




    The jury for the 2024 edition is chaired  by Luce Brotcorne (INRIA Lille):

    Members appointed by the PGMO Scientific Council

    Guillaume Carlier (CEREMADE, Dauphine)
    Johanne Cohen (LISN, Paris Sud)
    Nicolas Gast (INRIA, Grenoble)

    Members appointed by the ROADEF

    Boris Detienne (IMB, Univ. de Bordeaux),
    Dominique Feillet (LIMOS, Mines de St Etienne)
    Rosa Figueiredo (LIA Univ. d'Avignon),

    Members appointed by the group MODE of SMAI

    Alexandre d’Aspremont (INRIA, ENS),
    Luce Brotcorne (INRIA, Lille),
    Yannick Privat (IECL, Nancy)



    PGMO PhD Awards History

      PGMO PhD Award 2023

      published the April 13, 2023
      PhD AWARD 2023 Ngoc Hoang Mai - "Practical polynomial optimization through positivity certificates with and without denominators" Rémi Robin - "Control and Optimization of Physical Systems: Quantum Dynamics and Magnetic Confinement in Stellarators" The jury for the 2023 edition was …

      PhD Awards 2022 PGMO

      published the March 28, 2023
      PhD AWARD 2022 Adèle Pass-Lanneau Adèle Pass-Lanneau completed her PhD at Sorbonne University, under the supervision of Pascale Bendotti, Philippe Chrétienne and Pierre Fouilhoux. Her thesis work deals with the notion of decision anchoring in the field of robust combinatorial …

      Pgmo prix de thèse 2021

      published the May 23, 2022
      PhD AWARD 2021 The 2021 laureate of the PGMO Thesis Award are: Idriss MAZARI Shape optimization and spatial heterogeneity in reaction-diffusion equations Idriss Mazari a effectué son doctorat en mathématiques à Sorbonne université, sous la direction de Grégoire Nadin et …

      Pgmo prix de thèse 2020

      published the February 8, 2022
      PhD AWARD 2020 The 2020 laureate of the PGMO Thesis Award are: Tristan Garrec Tristan Garrec a effectué son doctorat en mathématiques à l’Université de Toulouse Capitole sous la direction de Jérôme Renault. Il est l'auteur d'une thèse élégante de …

      Pgmo prix de thèse 2019

      published the February 7, 2022
      PhD AWARD 2019 The 2019 laureate of the PGMO Thesis Award are: Charles Bertucci Contributions à la théorie des jeux à champ moyen" "The PGMO Prize 2019 is awarded to Charles BERTUCCI for his PhD thesis entitled "Contributions à la …

      Pgmo prix de thèse 2018

      published the February 6, 2022
      PhD AWARD 2018 The 2018 laureate of the PGMO Thesis Award are: Nicolas BONIFAS Geometric and Dual Approaches to Cumulative Scheduling " The work of Nicolas Bonifas falls in the scope of constraint-based scheduling. In this framework, the most frequently …

      Pgmo prix de thèse 2017

      published the February 5, 2022
      PhD AWARD 2017 The 2017 laureate of the PGMO Thesis Award are: Vincent Cohen-Addad From Practice to Theory : Approximation schemes for clustering and network design under the direction of Claire Mathieu "This thesis contains pathbreaking and practically very important …

      Pgmo prix de thèse 2016

      published the February 4, 2022
      PhD AWARD 2016 The 2016 laureate of the PGMO Thesis Award are: Pauline SARRABEZOLLES Pauline Sarrabezolles obtained her PhD thesis in Applied Mathematics at Université Paris-Est and ENPC ParisTech under the supervision of Frédéric Meunier. The title of the thesis …

      Pgmo Prix de thèse 2015

      published the February 3, 2022
      PhD AWARD 2015 The 2015 laureate of the PGMO Thesis Award are: Benjamin MARTIN Benjamin Martin prepared his PhD thesis in Nantes in Computer Science after a Bachelor in Mathematics at the University of Nantes and a Master Degree in …

      Pgmo prix de thèse 2014

      published the February 2, 2022
      PhD AWARD 2014 The 2014 laureate of the PGMO Thesis Award are: Daniel HOEHENER Daniel HOEHENER prepared his PhD thesis at Université Pierre et Marie Curie (Paris 6) on "Conditions d’optimalité pour des problèmes de contrôle optimal avec contraintes d’états'' …

      Pgmo prix de thèse 2013

      published the February 1, 2022
      PhD AWARD 2013 The 2013 laureate of the PGMO Thesis Award are: Olivier FERCOQ Olivier Fercoq a fait sa thèse sous la direction de Stéphane Gaubert, Marianne Akian (X, CMAP +INRIA) et Mustapha Bouhtou (Orange Labs). Le sujet était: "Optimisation …